Discovering Me

Extract from my book – ‘Discovering Me,’ a 30 day interactive journey exploring God for young people.

on January 9, 2016

Sometimes I feel a bit like Alice in Wonderland where she jumps in a rabbit hole and discovers a whole new adventure. In part of that story Alice drinks a potion that makes her shrink and suddenly she has a different view of everything!

Just like Alice I’ve had the opportunity to look at things in a different way. I have always believed in God but my thoughts and ideas about him have changed a lot since I’ve grown up. I feel like I’ve been on quite a journey in my thinking in the last few years, and there are a lot of things that I have discovered that I really wish I’d known when I was younger. I’ve realised that it’s okay to ask questions as you think about who God is. In fact, through this, you may discover that what God thinks about you is a whole lot better than what you first thought.

This book is about you, and I want to invite you to explore your thoughts and discover God for yourself because knowing him is not about believing certain things, but about relationship.

I hope that as I share things that have encouraged me over the last few years they will also encourage you, and that you will enjoy using this book to help you on your own journey of discovery.

There are 30 chapters in this book and so you could do one chapter every day for a month. You might like to read through each chapter with someone else and discuss it with them. If you’re doing it on your own you could write down any thoughts, feelings, ideas, dreams or questions you have—because those are all a very important part of your journey

Your thoughts and feelings count, after all they are part of who you are—and even if they change, that’s okay, it’s all part of discovering me/you!

There’s only one you and you are amazing.

You’re chosen and special.

You are beautifully and wonderfully made.

(More information about the book can be found here.)

Leave a Reply

